Spiritual Workout Series Part Two: Eat Clean

“For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age,”

‭‭Titus‬ ‭2:11-12‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Okay so now that we know how to get started growing spiritually , training your flesh and establishing a relationship with God.

We need to think about how we maintain this new lifestyle of being spiritually responsible in what we not only allow into our body but, our soul.

You can’t have goals of one day having a six pack of perfectly chiseled abdominal muscles and you eat a tub of ice cream every night before bed.  Just as you can’t expect to be spiritually in shape if everyday you are continually dumping toxic worldly garbage into your soul.

The statement is true: “You are what you eat” this holds true to feeding your soul as well.

So I’m going to highlight a few key things that can either make or break your spiritual diet:

Ever come across a song that you can’t seem to get out of your head?  No matter how hard you try, you end up humming it or singing it out loud randomly.  Oh the joy of music as wonderful as it can be as we sing aloud a song of praise and worship to our Heavenly Father, we have to be careful what we allow into our ear gates if the music is sexually explicit or lacks morally sound content.  You are allowing bad seeds to be planted in your spirit, bad seeds that will eventually bear fruit, creating ungodly desires in our heart and mind.

  • Thanks to today’s technology we have access to many genres of Christian music including Christian hip-hop which is one of my son’s favorite genres.  As long as the music is glorifying God it is okay “to turn up for Jesus” as my son would say.

With a wide spread epidemic of the absent of content worthy television.  Between the reality tv shows that appear to be more like boxing matches and popular shows lacking all things morally sound.  Before I sit down and watch something I sometimes have to ask myself “would Jesus watch this?”  Im sure it’s the Holy Spirit conviction letting me know it’s not pleasing nor is it edifying to my soul.  What I’ve found to help me out in this area is watching or listening to a sermon before turning on the television often times it will take that desire away all together.

  • Searching for sermons on YouTube or podcast via my phone also helps when on much needed tv breaks.

Scroll, like, click and share if you don’t know what I’m talking about now you do it’s social media.  When I first started off in my relationship with God I really struggled in this area, I’d be home comparing my life to people that I don’t know online, randomly searching old friends profiles just to be nosey and spending hours unnecessarily scrolling only to look at the time later realizing how much time I’d just wasted.  This is something that I want to clarify concerning social media it is not a bad thing but, if it’s not used to glorify God you may need to check yourself.

  • If you are on social media more than spending time with God you are allowing social media to be your idol.
  • Every now and then you need to deactivate your page for extended periods of time and go on a media fast.  Challenge yourself to lessen your time spent online daily.

A huge part of dieting is doing a self assessment of what you’re putting into your body and how you can successfully change your intake for the best results.  So as you begin to change your spiritual diet be mindful of something if you wouldn’t want Jesus to see you doing it, eating or drinking it, watching it or posting it then don’t do it.

“So then, whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of [our great] God.”
-‭‭1 CORINTHIANS‬ ‭10:31‬‬ AMP

Keep in my mind your flesh will only desire to do what you choose to indulge in and if you keep feeding it junk that is what it will crave.

Tools to breaking unhealthy diet habits:

  • Stop entertaining sin.
  • Renew your mind in the word of God daily.  (If you don’t have your bible on you download a bible app on your phone or tablet.)
  • Talk to the Heavenly Father daily.  (The more time that you spend time with him, the more you will be like him.)
  • Changing your environment. (You can’t go some of the places that you used to go or even hang around some of the same people as before.)
  • Pushing past your feelings. (Some days you are going to feel alone, miss the “old days” because, you feel as though you are missing out or just want to give up altogether.  Push past it you are growing in the Lord and this is apart of the process.)

Blessings ❤️

Relatable Post:

Media Fast

Stop feeding your sin…

7 thoughts on “Spiritual Workout Series Part Two: Eat Clean

  1. Good one Sis! “Before I sit down and watch something I sometimes have to ask myself “would Jesus watch this?””. I do this as well. In the beginning I used to think about how my life was now boring because there was almost nothing to watch on Tv. This made me realise how the devil has taken over the media and how most of the things there are entertaining and exalting devil. I mostly watch Christian channels and people often mock me saying my life is boring. But now I really love my “boring” life. I realised since I started watching less of TV, my spiritual life has grown. I have also been able to start my blog, start a girls group and start writing my book. All of these are things I know God was leading me to do for years but the distraction and noise of TV didn’t let me do them. Often times we think we don’t have enough time to spend time with God. But if we discipline ourselves in these areas, we will discover that we do have enough time to spend with God. It is not a time issue. It is lack of desire. I do believe in the phrase “garbage in, garbage out”. God bless you for this Sis!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Amen sis everything that you said is on point!!! 🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽 I cant agree more though and I love my “boring” life as well because, there is no better place than in the presence of God.
      I can’t wait to read your future book.
      Blessings on this lovely Wednesday ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

