(((Without))) Wednesdays

“And he said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing, but by prayer and fasting.”‭‭Mark‬ ‭9:29‬ ‭KJV‬‬

             Fasting + Prayer = POWER

The act of fasting is to usually abstain from food or drink.  However there are various other forms some choose to fast from using their cell phones, social media, watching television (media fast).

What do you enjoy the most?

For me it’s food, I enjoy all things food.  Therefore, I turn away from my plate during the designated fasting time.  It is understandable that everyone can not go without food.  Therefore, what you choose to abstain from is important.  (Keep in mind if it means nothing to you, it will mean nothing to God.) 

Example: When I had social media I would deactivate my account for certain periods of time and completely devote that time once spent online to God.

  • Partial Fasting: as in the Daniel Fast (Daniel 1 ) he did not eat meat, sweets or drink wine, etc. 
  • Normal fast: would be your typical liquid fast as in (detox water,water, all natural juices, etc.)
  • Absolute: would include not eating or drinking.

Think about it even Jesus himself fasted in the wilderness for 40 days so there has to be significance in this act right?  Fasting requires discipline, obedience and sacrifice.  It shows God that you are willing to go without by decreasing your physical pleasure in order to increase spiritually, so how hungry are you for him?

Why have I fasted?

Fasting has helped me in so many ways when I was heartbroken it helped break those soul ties that held me down.  When I went thru a spiritual drought it gave me a spiritual recharge/renewal.  In the midst of my weaknesses it strengthened me so that I could live a life pure and pleasing in the sight of God. 


“Howbeit this kind goeth not out but by prayer and fasting.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭17:21‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  • Do you fast? 
  • How often do you fast? 
  • What do you usually fast from?

– Consult with a physician before fasting from food or drink.

Blessings ♥️☺️🙏🏾


13 thoughts on “(((Without))) Wednesdays

  1. This came right on time sis! I have been thinking about this for a while. I haven’t done food fast for sometime due to pregnancy and nursing. I weaned my baby 6 months old baby on sunday and i was so excited that i can now finally do food fast. I have been doing social media fast which sounds easy but i was shocked how much i struggled the first 3 days of the fast lol… I never knew that i was so used to hitting the instagram app on my phone so many times in a day. This is a confirmation that i have to fast soon. Continue to be used by God.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In the life of David, during those hard times of distress, his response was deeper devotion and worship to God thru fasting.
    Psalms 35:13 (KJV) But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth: I humbled my soul with fasting; and my prayer returned into mine own bosom.

    Fasting always did its wonders in my life. I always felt and realised the greater presence and moving of God in my life whenever I fasted. And many times, God delivered me thru fasting.

    What is the core essence of fasting? It is greater hunger for God. Not just to ask for deliverance or help, but greater hunger for God. This was explicit in Jesus’ teaching:

    Matthew 9:15 (KJV) And Jesus said unto them, Can the children of the bridechamber mourn, as long as the bridegroom is with them? but the days will come, when the bridegroom shall be taken from them, and then shall they fast.

    Let God be glorified.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Confirmation, yes! While my kids and husband are out of town this week I thought what a perfect time to fast. I even started a fasting devotion on my Bible app but haven’t fast yet. So this is confirmation for me to take these next few days to fast before their return. Blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In the life of David, during the hard times of hardships and sufferings, his response was deeper devotion and worship to God thru prayer and fasting:
    Psalms 35:13 (KJV) But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth: I humbled my soul with fasting; and my prayer returned into mine own bosom.

    Yet the core essence of fasting is not about asking for deliverance or help, but the greater hunger for God. This was explicit in Jesus’ teaching:

    Matthew 9:15 (KJV) And Jesus said unto them, Can the children of the bridechamber mourn, as long as the bridegroom is with them? but the days will come, when the bridegroom shall be taken from them, and then shall they fast.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, recently that’s been bought to my attention as well that it is not practiced as much among believers anymore. So I just skimmed the surface today however I will continue to post on it as the the Holy Spirit leads me to do so along with my previous experiences with fasting. ☺️ blessings

      Thanks for reading/sharing.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

